Virginia Certified Title Settlement Agent
The Virginia Certified Title Settlement Agent™ course is the only advanced instructional program available for title settlement agents in Virginia to promote higher standards and skills for title settlement agents to benefit the land title industry and real property consumers. Those who complete this course are awarded the VCTSA designation, a voluntary accreditation that is not required by Virginia law. This course DOES NOT count toward the mandatory 16-hour training course for the title insurance license. To learn more about Virginia licensing requirements, consult the Virginia Bureau of Insurance.
The VCTSA course has been approved for 16 credit hours of CE/CLE (CE: 13 title, 3 law/regulations; CLE: title), and is also approved for credit toward the American Land Title Association’s (ALTA) National Title Professional (NTP) designation.
The Virginia Land Title Association recognizes the land title professionals who have demonstrated their knowledge, experience, and dedication essential to the safe and efficient transfer of real property. View the full list of VLTA members who have successfully obtained the Virginia Certified Title Settlement Agent Credential here. This list is updated quarterly. To view additional information that is not provided through this list, please use the member directory.
ABOUT CERTIFICATION CONTINUING EDUCATION (CCE)The purpose of Certification Continuing Education (CCE) is to ensure that certification holders represent the most up-to-date experts in their chosen professional field. VLTA will continue to offer current and relevant education to assist certification holders in meeting this requirement. All CCE courses are vetted by VLTA’s education committee for their relevance, quality, and rigor.
Continuing Education Requirements
The number of continuing education hours depends on which credentials and licenses the applicant holds. VCTSA Continuing Education courses are mid- and advanced-level courses designed to offer depth and insight into common problems faced by settlement agents; reduce claims; and provide resources for closers to resolve issues.
- Virginia Certified Title Settlement Agents are required to complete 16-hours of continuing education each biennium.
- Candidates who also hold the Virginia Certified Title Examiner (VCTE) Credential are required to complete only 8-hours of VCTSA continuing education each biennium.
- Candidates who are a Virginia Title Insurance Agent are required to complete 8-hours of VCTSA continuing education in addition to licensure requirements each biennium.
There are multiple ways that candidates can receive their CCE:
- Regional Educational Events
- Annual Convention hosted in October of each year
- Online courses available through the Virginia Land Title Institute
- Approved outside provider course
|January 2020 begins a new biennium compliance period ending on December 31, 2021.
All candidates who receive their VCTSA credential prior to June 2021 must complete 16-hours of certification continuing education (CCE) before the compliance period ends on December 31, 2021.
If you have completed another VLTA Certification program or hold an active Title Insurance License, your CCE requirements is reduced to 8-hours for the VCTSA program.
Login credentials are included in the VCTSA letter that accompanied your certificate. If you have not received your credentials, please email Program Manager, Suzanne Campbell at Suzanne.Campbell@vlta.org for assistance. Your login credentials for your transcript are different than your VLTA login credentials but can be reset at your convenience.
Information For Outside ProvidersVLTA encourages affiliated organizations to submit course offerings for approval as Certification Continuing Education (CCE) courses for the Virginia Certified Title Settlement Agents (VCTSA). Providers must submit a completed Outside Provider Course Approval form to be considered. Forms must be submitted a minimum of 15 days in advance of the live course. VLTA will provide credit for live in-person events, online/published courses, and on-demand courses.
Individuals may request approval from an outside provider who has not already been approved from VLTA. Individuals wishing to seek approval must submit the Individual Outside Provider Course Approval form a minimum of 15 days in advance of the live course.