Virginia Certified Title Examiner
The Virginia Certified Title Examiner course is designed to offer a credible minimum standard of professionalism to the practice of title examination/abstraction. Covering a broad base of Virginia laws and statutes related to title examination, processes, and basic underwriting, the course prepares a new examiner for training in the field and ensures that existing examiners have a comprehensive understanding of basic title examination. New title examiners are advised to seek additional hands-on training from an experienced examiner before conducting title examination in Virginia.
This course entails 16 hours of online course work followed by a final exam integrated into the online platform. VLTA lists all certified examiners as preferred providers on its website, and strongly encourages all agents and underwriters to use only VCTEs. Students benefit from a comprehensive and detailed look at title examination across eight 2-hour online sessions. Students are also required to pass an online examination to qualify for certification as a VCTE.
The VCTE course has been approved for 16 credit hours of CE/CLE, and is also approved for credit toward the American Land Title Association’s (ALTA) National Title Professional (NTP) designation.
About Certification Continuing Education (CCE)The purpose of Certification Continuing Education (CCE) is to ensure that certification holders represent the most up-to-date experts in their chosen professional field. VLTA will continue to offer current and relevant education to assist certification holders in meeting this requirement. All CCE courses are vetted by VLTA’s education committee for their relevance, quality, and rigor.
Continuing Education Requirements
The number of continuing education hours depends on which credentials and licenses the applicant holds. VCTE Continuing Education courses are mid- and advanced-level courses designed to offer depth and insight into common problems faced by examiners; reduce claims; and provide resources for examiners to resolve issues.
- Virginia Certified Title Examiners are required to complete 16-hours of continuing education each biennium.
- Candidates who also hold the Virginia Certifed Title Settlement Agent (VCTSA) Credential are required to complete only 8-hours of VCTE continuing education each biennium.
- Candidates who are a Virginia Title Insurance Agent are required to complete 8-hours of VCTE continuing education in addition to licensure requirements each biennium.
There are multiple ways that candidates can recieve their CCE:
- Regional Educational Events
- Annual Convention hosted in October of each year
- Onlines courses available through the Virginia Land Title Institute
- Approved outside provider course
|January 2020 begins a new biennium compliance period ending on December 31, 2021.
All candidates who receive their VCTE credential prior to June 2021 must complete 16-hours of certification continuing education (CCE) before the compliance period ends on December 31, 2021.
If you have completed another VLTA Certification program or hold an active Title Insurance License, your CCE requirements is reduced to 8-hours for the VCTE program.
Login credentials are included in the VCTE letter that accompanied your certificate. If you have not received your credentials, please email the Program Manager, Suzanne Campbell at Suzanne.Campbell@vlta.org for assistance. Your login credentials for your transcript are different than your VLTA login credentials but can be reset at your convenience.
Information For Outside ProvidersVLTA encourages affiliated organizations to submit course offerings for approval as Certification Continuing Education (CCE) courses for the Virginia Certified Title Examiners (VCTE). Providers must submit a completed Outside Provider Course Approval form to be considered. Forms must be submitted a minimum of 15 days in advance of the live course. VLTA will provide credit for live in-person events, online/published courses, and on-demand courses.
Individuals may request approval from an outside provider who has not already been approved from VLTA. Individuals wishing to seek approval must submit the Individual Outside Provider Course Approval form a minimum of 15 days in advance of the live course.